Hooray!  At last there has been some recognition of Architects in the New Years Honours list.  Today, it was announced, that two men were to be recognised for their services to Architecture: John David Sutherland, of Auckland, and also of the S in Jasmax and a former adjunct Professor of Unitec – and also Friedrich Eisenhofer, of Waikanae, and a keen proponent of using the sun’s energy in his architecture. He’s the one with the house like a series of bubbles, set into the sand dunes in Waikanae.

Congratulations to both of these architects for their achievement. They have both been awarded with the ONZM, which means they are “Officers of the Order” – not the high rank of Knight Companion, so we don’t have to call them Sir, but a very honourable recognition nevertheless. We hope to see more Architect members in the future!


2 responses to “ONZM”

  1. “Architect members” – that sounds very a la NZIA. How about simply seeing more architects and designers recognised?

  2. letraset Avatar

    Hmm – an architectural critic would be good too – I think Douglas Lloyd Jenkins got something last year …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *